Nasr eyes GP2 title push alongside F1

Felipe Nasr expects to dovetail a title assault in GP2 with his duties as Williams's test and reserve driver in Formula 1 in 2014.
The 2011 British Formula 3 champion's role with the team was revealed on Friday, and the Brazilian made his driving debut with Williams in the final day of the second pre-season test at Bahrain on Saturday.
He plans to return to race in the series in which he finished fourth last season for Carlin, alongside five free practice outings and a total of three tests for Williams in F1.
Nasr has yet to confirm the team he will race for, but the only front-running seats still available are with his former team Carlin, or alongside European Formula 3 champion Raffaele Marciello at Racing Engineering.
"I will probably do another year in GP2," said Nasr, who completed 87 laps and set the fourth fastest time during his first test for Williams in Bahrain. "There are not many teams [left], only two, but it's in the plan and we're still talking to them."
Nasr also hailed the change in GP2 tire rules for this year, designed to bring tire strategy in feature races closer to F1.
"I think it was a good thing they changed the regulation for this year because now you must use the two compounds of tire in race one, which makes a lot more sense," added Nasr. "Sometimes in GP2 I was leading a race and suddenly had someone on two hard prime tires, which don't degrade as much, so you can make a later pit stop, [challenging me].
"But if I'm playing for the championship I have to play on the conservative side to make sure I score in both races, whereas some people just go for race one and that's it. So I think it should be a good thing."
2014 GP2 lineup so far:

Russian Time        Mitch Evans         Artem Markelov
Carlin              Julian Leal
Racing Engineering  Raffaele Marciello
DAMS                Jolyon Palmer       Stephane Richelmi
ART                 Stoffel Vandoorne   Takuya Izawa
Hilmer              Daniel Abt          Facu Regalia
Rapax               Simon Trummer
Arden               Rene Binder         Andre Negrao
Caterham            Alexander Rossi     Rio Haryanto
MP                  Daniel de Jong
Campos              Arthur Pic          Kimiya Sato